Fireworks “Celebration”(Day 2)

This Fourth of July Gil, Alondra, Helen (my cousin), Ivonne (my Godmother), and I got together with our cousin Serafin to see the fireworks at a place called Celebration. Huge mansions, fountains, and a small marketplace where those with a higher income live by Disney World. It was like stepping into a new world right in the middle of Orlando. The day was muggy and humid, but at least the rain made a slight difference earlier.

Before we went to Celebration, Serafin lent Alondra and I bikes for us to ride a few laps around his neighborhood. I did not think I would make it to four laps with the heat index over 100, but Alondra pushed me forward. We returned to the house drenched in sweat and I found Gil in the same condition. He had been doing batting practice with Serafin while Helen and Ivonne watched. After relaxing for an hour we arrived in Celebration.

alo-and-helencelebration-avemaket-street-clockcelebration-sign

The fireworks were amazing and reminded me of home. Macy’s fireworks spectacular was happening in the same moment. I got to see it with Papi last year. Bright explosions of red, white, blue purple, pink, yellow, and orange expanded through the sky. The sound vibrated though me as I watched in awe.

fireworks-onefireworks-two

Once the fireworks ended we went to Starbucks and caffeinated ourselves. We spent more time with Serafin while everyone enjoyed their drinks. He got Alondra into a word puzzle app. I looked up at the night sky and saw stars. The lights in the city does not allow me to see much of them. It was a great way to end our Independence Day.

fafo
My Cousin Serafin

Photos: Rosa Elena Oliveras

Video: Rosa Elena Oliveras

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

