Treasures From The Thrift Shop

Okay so here is a small confession; I got my dad and Alondra’s holiday gifts from a thrift shop. There, I said it. The thrift shop is a great place to find things of value for a cheap price. You’d be surprised by the things you find in there. My allergies to dust limit my visits to the two I have found here in the Bronx.

Last year, Alondra found this Christmas Garfield plush toy and got it for me. Its still on my bed. This year I decided to return the favor and see what I can find for her. Guess what I found in the toy section? An Etch-A-Sketch! A fully working one too. Alondra had always wanted one, but there are not many places that sell them anymore. If they do then its really expensive. So I got her the Etch-A-Sketch as a Three Kings Day gift.

garfield
Holiday Garfield and mini Odie plush
etch-a-sketch
Etch A Sketch

A few shelves away from where I located the Etch-A-Sketch, I found Papi’s Christmas gift. Its a 2010 Hess Truck. The lights work perfectly and so does the take off ramp. Papi had wanted a Hess truck since he was a kid. I made his childhood wish come true. I did not find the jet that comes with it, but I did find a Hess car that goes with the colors.

hess-truck

Papi and Alondra’s faces lit up when they opened their gifts. My dad could not believe I got him the HESS truck. He is still a little kid inside. I would like to remind everyone that its not about how much the gift is worth, but what it means to the person you are giving it to.

Photos by: Rosa Elena Oliveras.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

