Reflecting On Change

First I want to wish all my readers and supporters a Happy New Year! Its 2016 and a time to reflect on the past year. I hope this year brings a lot of joy and blessings to you all.

2015 was a rough year for me. There were happy moments like going to the Botanical Garden, Six Flags, a few art exhibits, getting a job, my mom being in remission from cancer, the Power Against Breast Cancer Project and amazing music concerts. Although a lot of fun events took place, my emotional health was taking a toll. I became less motivated to do anything, I got depressed with the death of a beloved family member, family drama and gossip affected me. Slowly I began to isolate myself from the world. I hid everything with a smile.

My job has felt like a boring routine of the same task. Yes, I work with audio but there is a difference between having a job and being happy with your life. I am grateful to have a job, but I am not feeling like I am fulfilling anything or making a huge difference. I want a job in the field I studied hard for to earn my degree. I will not let my degree go to waste.

2016 I want to work on changing all that. I want to work on my mental and emotional health. Part of that mission is finding a job I am happy with. I have also decided to have a glass mason jar and write down something positive that happens throughout the year. Some people call this a “gratitude jar”. I am naming mine the “positivity jar.” I will enhance my creativity skills a little more each day.

positivity-jar
Positive Jar

Along with my mental health, I will also focus on my physical health. That means working out more and eating right. Shakira is ten pounds overweight so she will get there as well. I believe that in order to change things in your life, you need to start with yourself.

This is in no way a “new year, new me” post. I am still going to be myself, but I need improvements. Everyone at some point in their journey has a moment where they look at themselves and say “what can I do different?” My main mission this year is to find my purpose in life. I know in my gut its to help people and animals. The big question is how? God gave me various creative skills that I need to use to make a change. This new life goal won’t be easy and there will be times where I will feel like giving up, but I am determined to do something more this coming year. 2016 is about repairing myself.

Photo by: Rosa Elena Oliveras.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

