Living with Hypoglycemia

BRONX, NY- Imagine riding a crowded subway car to work. Its a beautiful, hot summer day and there is only one stop to your destination. Your body suddenly starts to sweat and your heartbeat is faster than usual. You think its the heat, but the shakiness starts. Your vision is playing tricks on you.

Uh-oh. Now you know something is really wrong.

The woman standing next to you asks “are you okay?”

You shake your head and that makes your vision worse. By now your breathing is really labored. You feel your legs give up and your world goes dark.

This is what happened to me the day I was diagnosed with Hypoglycemia on July 25, 2012. I woke up in an ambulance with an EMT telling me to relax because I was in shock. Personally I felt really dizzy and just wanted to know what the hell happened. Everything was explained to me at the ER in Lincoln Hospital. It turns out the woman who asked if I was okay pulled me out the 4 train at 125th and got an MTA employee to call 911. I never got her name, but I am forever thankful to her for getting me help. God made her my guardian angel.

After a nurse finally found my really thin vein, the blood test results showed that I had hypoglycemia. For those of you unfamiliar with the term, hypoglycemia is “a condition characterized by abnormally low blood sugar, usually less than 70 mg/dl” (Diabetes.org).

In other words, my family medical history of diabetes had caught up to me (Drat!). I had to lay in an uncomfortable hospital bed and eat a really cold sandwich to see if my glucose levels would go back to normal. By then my parents and boyfriend had come to check on me.

The doctor explained hypoglycemia is a border line diagnosis to diabetes and that I will have to keep an eye on my glucose level for the rest of my life. I didn’t carry sweets with be on a daily basis since I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but ever since that scary visit the ER I carry a least a tiny chocolate bar or a piece of candy in my purse or backpack.

The symptoms vary for everyone and more than one can occur. Symptoms include:

  • Shakiness
  • Nervousness or anxiety
  • Sweating, chills, and clamminess
  • Irritability or impatience
  • Confusion, including delirium
  • Rapid/ fast heartbeat
  •  Feeling lightheaded or dizziness
  • Hunger and nausea
  • Sleepiness
  • Blurred/ impaired vision
  • Tingling or numbness in the lips or tongue
  • Headaches
  • Weakness or fatigue
  • Anger, stubbornness, or sadness
  • Lack of coordination
  • Nightmares or crying out during sleep
  • Seizures
  • Unconsciousness

Source: Hypoglycemia Low Blood Glucose (Blood Sugar). American Diabetes Association. 16 Sept. 2014. Web. Diabetes.org. 27 Apr. 2015

As soon as I feel any of those symptoms kick in I eat my sweets right away. No need for me to pass out again. There is a simple treatment when these symptoms occur; consume 15-20 grams of glucose or carbohydrates. The equivalent of this is two tablespoons of raisins, one tablespoon of honey, or four ounces (1 1/2 cup) of juice or non diet soda. Its recommended to eat a meal within an hour these symptoms occur (diabetes.com).

As for me, I handle my hypoglycemia the same way I do with my asthma; I carry what I need, watch for symptoms, and do what is necessary to prevent anything worse. Not many are educated about hypoglycemia and I hope I have done so for you, my readers.

For more information visit: http://www.diabetes.org/living-with-diabetes/treatment-and-care/blood-glucose-control/hypoglycemia-low-blood.html

P.S. I quit my retail job the next day because my manager was not concerned for my health after I explained why I did not arrive to work that day.

2 thoughts on “Living with Hypoglycemia

Add yours

  1. The trick is only eating what you need when you get low. I got hypoglycemic at work today (under 50). I tried eating what I packed for lunch, which was healthy, but was still shaky. I had chocolate covered cream puffs in the work freezer (from before I was trying to control my diabetes) and I inhaled them. And of course that shot my BG up to 400. It’s hard to be rational when you feel like you’re about to die.

    1. Normally a small chocolate snack helps me, but I have to eat a meal within an hour. The shakes and chills are terrible. The headaches are the worst for me. Hope you feel better.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

