Making Trailers

LEHMAN COLLEGE, BRONX, NY- Part of my major requirement was to learn Final Cut Pro 10 as a multimedia journalism major. It was a little nerve wracking at first because I did not know much about video editing. My prior experience filming was learning camera angles and lighting techniques. Editing is a whole new ball game. Learning Final Cut Pro 10 was a satisfying experience. I still have a lot to learn, but it makes life a lot easier for video editors and film makers. Shortcuts are also your best friend on this.

The first trailer I created was for a company called Silverdraft. My professor had the class create the trailer to help market the impact this mobile film bus is making. The interviews were helpful in telling the story and I pieced the images together to the subject’s words. Mixing the audio was the easiest part for me. Placing the transitions was the most challenging.

This trailer was a lot more difficult. Its for the film “The Adjustment Bureau” starring Matt Damon and Emily Blunt. I had to try to explain the movie’s plot without giving away the ending and it had to be only a minute in length. I chose a few lines from the film, had images match the message, and got a little creative with the text. I used music from Macklemore and Lana Del Ray. What is interesting is the reverse affect happened with this trailer. The transitions were simple to add, but mixing the audio got frustrating. Even with using the advanced features on Final Cut Pro 10, the audio was not where I wanted it to be. Either way I am very happy with the outcome.


Will I create more trailers? Maybe not. What did inspire me about learning final cut is filming interviews and stories of my own about people’s lives. That to me beats making a trailer any day.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

