“Celebrating” Halloween

Halloween is a tradition in my home. Pumpkins are carved, haunted houses are visited, costumes are bought or made, and trick or treating is an adventure. Since I was a kid I had dressed up in a variety of costumes; witch, spider queen, angel, nerd, vampire school girl, Jack Skellington, Sally, and this year I brought back Alice in Wonderland. Dressing up brings out the kid in me on Halloween (along with Hershey bars) and its really fun. Even our pet sometimes dress up.

Alice in Wonderland2014
Alice in Wonderland 2014

Alondra, my little sister, has had her fun with costumes as well; Minnie Mouse, Tinkerbell, Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, a panda in pajamas, and even some Nightmare Before Christmas characters. She chose to use my Sally costume this year and added face paint. I used to be a fan of face paint. Not anymore. I don’t even wear make up.

Finding childhood Halloween photos are difficult at the moment, but I did find these which are not that old.

Dad has skills with pumpkin carving
Dad has skills with pumpkin carving
Me as Jack Skellington
Me as Jack Skellington
Me dressed up as Sally
Me dressed up as Sally
Tried creating my own costume one year; Vampire school girl
Tried creating my own costume one year; Vampire school girl
Alondra and I got creative  one halloween; Nerd and Red Riding Hood
Alondra and I got creative one halloween; Nerd and Red Riding Hood

This year we hit a few snags with the traditions. No pumpkin was carved and not a lot of decorations were put up. There is just too much going on, but the worst of it was the judgment. A few people frowned upon the fact that my family and I “celebrate” Halloween. I put “celebrate” in quotes for a reason. These people told my mother and I that we are encouraging the practice of “celebrating” the dead and other religious lashing that I rather not get into. Here is the thing. My family and I are Catholics. We know Halloween is frowned upon, but its not something we “celebrate”. Instead we see it as a day for children to have fun and expresses themselves with costumes. The candy is a great bonus. I will not mention the names of these people, but all I have to say is if you don’t approve of a tradition, at least respect the home you are in. Even if it is against your views everyone is different. RESPECT THEIR VIEWS!

With all those ignorant comments, I still put on my costume today and went trick or treating with my sister and family. I enjoyed seeing the children in great characters and the adults playing along. Obviously we follow certain rules to stay safe. Alondra got a decent stash of candy this year. It was a chilly night, but a lot of fun.

Happy Halloween!

 

 

2 thoughts on ““Celebrating” Halloween

Add yours

  1. Be you and only you. Never live by people’s views. Do what makes your family happy and yourself. Great article honey

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

