Breast Cancer Awareness

Breast Cancer Bear
Breast Cancer Bear

My mother gave me the tiny teddy bear you see above when I was about 7 years old. At the time, I did not know what the symbol on its chest meant, nor did I ask. All I cared about was playing with this bear. Now 16 years later, this bear belongs to my little sister. We know what the symbol means, and it is impacting us so much. Mom bought this bear as a donation to breast cancer research. On October 24, 2014, mom received the news that she is diagnosed with stage one breast cancer.

Ironic isn’t it? And October is Breast Cancer Awareness month.

My family and I have dealt with loved ones that have had leukemia and stomach cancer, but this is the first time someone close to me has had breast cancer. Of course the main question that crossed my mind was Why Mom? My mother has gone through three strokes that have left her partially paralyzed, a few heart procedures, some surgeries,  and now she has to battle cancer. Its in the early stages and she has a good chance of surviving it, but there is always a constant fear of losing her as well.

The day after mom told me her diagnosis, my friend Sasha shared a link on breast cancer awareness. An artist by the username of Halfy (deviantart.com) created awareness with the help of female superheroes. Wonder Woman, She Hulk, Storm, and Catwoman are doing self examinations. Main point; even superheroes are vulnerable. No one is immune to cancer.

Breast Cancer Awareness: Catwoman (Artwork by Halfy)
Breast Cancer Awareness: Catwoman (Artwork by Halfy)
Breast Cancer Awareness: She Hulk (Artwork by Halfy)
Breast Cancer Awareness: She Hulk (Artwork by Halfy)
Breast Cancer Awareness: Storm (Artwork by Halfy)
Breast Cancer Awareness: Storm (Artwork by Halfy)
Breast Cancer Awareness: Wonder Woman (Artwork by Halfy)
Breast Cancer Awareness: Wonder Woman (Artwork by Halfy)

This is an amazing campaign to raise awareness for breast cancer. Let’s be honest, the ads on the subway are boring and most people don’t look at them or take the messages seriously. Art like this will catch a lot of attention and raise awareness with not just breast cancer, but many other health issues. These powerful women are checking themselves. My mom checked herself and after discovering a lump on her right breast, immediately went to her doctor.

I will soon pay a visit to my doctor and see what are my chances of developing breast cancer. Its important for women to check themselves monthly. For the men who are reading this, remember that breast cancer is not just “a woman problem”. This cancer can affect your wife, mother, grandmother, sister, aunt, niece, cousin, best friend, all the important females in your life. There have even be rare cases where men develop it too (very rare).  So lets raise awareness, support the research, and encourage those who have been affected by breast cancer that they are not alone in this fight. My mother has a long fight ahead of her, but she is not going to give up.

To me more artwork from Halfy, click on the link: http://halfy.deviantart.com/art/Breast-Cancer-Campaign-Wonder-Woman-273594993

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

