Art Hunting at MoMA

MoMa-sign

MoMA, NEW YORK, NY- Its that dreaded time when an art professor asks you to find an interesting piece to write about for a paper. I use the word “dreaded” because looking for an art piece that catches your eye should be for fun. Well my friend Arianna Olivo and I actually had some fun at the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) to look for inspiration for our paper.

Arianna and I are not taking the same art class (or even go to the same college), but it seems both of our art professors think alike. Last time I went to MoMA was to see the Tim Burton Exhibit four years ago, so this felt a little different. We explored various exhibits that held different mediums of art; drawing, sculpture, mosaic, paint, lighting,metal, paper, words. You name it and it was there.

What Arianna and I didn’t expect to find was an exhibit based on video game design. It was a great surprise, and the gamer woman within me almost forgot I had an assignment to do (almost). I played a round of “Street Fighter” with Arianna. We also tried out “Space Invaders” and “Pac Man”.

Arianna trying out "Space Invaders".
Arianna trying out “Space Invaders”.
Me focused on "Pac-Man"
Me focused on “Pac-Man”

We returned to finding that piece.that spoke to us for our paper. Arianna actually found hers not too far from the video games. It was a chandelier made from broken plates, teacups, teapots, saucers, and mugs. It was amazing!

Chandelier art
Chandelier art

I didn’t find mine until I reached the Paris Toulouse- Lautrec drawing exhibit. This man did a lot.of sketches with charcoal and pencil. It took me a while to find what called my attention, but in the end I found “The Horse and the Collie”. Its a simple drawing of two animals playing around, but the simplest things in life can mean a lot.

"The Horse and The Collie."
“The Horse and The Collie.”
More of the Lautrec exhibit
More of the Lautrec exhibit

We had found our pieces and had fun too. Honestly, I enjoyed the video games more than the other.exhibits. There were some parts where I questioned “this is art?” There is always the debated question about “what is art?” To me, it depends on the individual. We all have different perspectives of how we see things. That’s what makes art really interesting.

Having fun with framing
Having fun with framing
Built from empty capsules
Built from empty capsules
City made from cardboard paper
City made from cardboard paper
Statue by the fountain
Statue by the fountain
Sculpture Garden at MoMa
Sculpture Garden at MoMa
Lights art work
Lights art work
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

