Reflective Day

Hey readers!
GROUND ZERO, NEW YORK, NY- Its been a long time since I last published a post on here. Its been a really rough summer and I am dealing with a lot, but thankfully I now have a lot of material to publish.

I went out yesterday with Gilberto to visit the 9/11 Memorial. It was very well done with trees planted around and two pools representing the perimeter of where the Twin Towers used to be. The water in the pools cascade down into a deep hole that I am guessing leads to some part of the museum. Around the south pool are the names of the victims who lost their lives in the four flights, the Pentagon, the NYPD, FDNY, rescue workers, the towers, and from the bombing in 1993.

South Pool of 9/11 Memorial
South Pool of 9/11 Memorial

The 9/11 Museum is located in between the two pools. Now here is something that bothers me about the museum itself. There is a $24 admission fee (which Gil and I did not pay). Why must there be an admission fee for tourists to see what happened on that terrible day? I find it disrespectful, and to Gil and I this seemed like the city is making a profit out of a tragedy. I was 10 years old when the towers were knocked down. I almost lived it. There is no need for me to pay a fee just to relive it again.

9/11 Muesum
9/11 Museum
Museum from South Pool
Museum from South Pool

We moved along to the North Pool and found names of the victims who perished in the towers. My dad lost his friend in the terrorist attacks. His name was Gilberto Ruiz. It took Gil and I two tries to find it, but there was his name on the perimeter of where the North Tower used to be. I smiled because I know it would mean something to my dad seeing his name there.

North pool
North pool
My dad's friend. R.I.P.
My dad’s friend. R.I.P.

Looking around the memorial made me think about how awful that day was. There was so much chaos, fear, and death. Loved ones were lost and it was long time for the city to get some sort of normal routine back on track. I don’t think the city will ever recover from a blow like that. Construction is still going on, there is a lot more security, and the simplest things could be considered “suspicious”.

We moved on to Battery Park through a long hallway. Gil and I enjoyed the scenic view of the river and all the attractions it had to offer. From where we were seated, we had a nice view of Ellis Island, Governor’s Island, the Statue of Liberty, parts of New Jersey, and a few bridges. Boats, ferries, kayaks,a cruise ship, and helicopters passed us by.

Statue of Liberty
Statue of Liberty
A beautiful sail boat
A beautiful sail boat
Governor's Island
Governor’s Island
Ellis Island
Ellis Island
Norwegian Cruise Ship
Norwegian Cruise Ship
Gil looking at the water
Gil looking at the water

While staring at the water I realized that the city has gotten small for me. Even with the beautiful views, I saw myself following the river to a different place. Somewhere that is not so controlled and people are not in their personal bubbles rushing everywhere. Someday I will leave the city and find my own path of where I want to go. I believe exploring news places opens more opportunities for yourself, and I would love to be somewhere out of my comfort zone. Looks like I am ready to step outside the box.

(photo taken by Gilberto E. Burgos)
(photo taken by Gilberto E. Burgos)
Walking the path
Walking the path
Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

