BookCon NYC!

Hey Readers!

JACOB JAVITZ CENTER, NEW YORK, NY- Classes are over, finals are done, and hello sweet freedom (until the fall semester begins). To treat myself for all the hard work I went through during the semester, I went to BookCon NYC at the Jacob Javitz Center with my boyfriend Gil, one of my best friends Steph, and my friend from Hostos Deysha. For those of you who are not familiar with the Javitz Center, its a big space where many conventions and events take place like the New York City Auto Show and Comic Con. Yesterday was the first time BookCon came to NYC.

Home of BookCon. The Jacob Javitz Center
Home of BookCon. The Jacob Javitz Center

BookCon is a convention where authors, writers, publishers, and pop culture collide. To say it was a lot of fun is an understatement. I was like a kid in a candy store. Besides music and art, books are a big part of my life. I learn so many things through characters and its amazing the worlds you can get lost in through the writer’s words. Some big names were there like R.L. Stien, Lemony Snicket, Stan Lee, Rick Riordan, Jason Segel, Amy Poehler, Holly Black, Grumpy Cat, Jeff Kinney, and Heather Graham. Some of my favorite’s attended and had signings; Cassandra Clare, Veronica Roth, and John Green.

Throughout the whole event we got free tote bags, chapter samples, books, e-book codes, comics, and graphic novels. Upcoming authors signed their free copies. It was sometimes difficult to navigate through the swarm of people that attended, but I did not mind. The panels were always full and I did not get a chance to hear some of the writers talk about their experience of creating the worlds that made them popular. It was great seeing fans show their dedication to their favorite series. I got to see Hogwarts students, faction representatives, shadowhunters, Olympians, and plenty of shirts with quotes from Gus Waters and Hazel Grace. I managed to get an autograph from Jeff Kinney (“Diary of a Wimpy Kid”) for my little sis Alondra. She was really happy with it.

Jeff Kinney's autograph. Got it for my sis :)
Jeff Kinney’s autograph. Got it for my sis 🙂

The one panel we did get to see was really awesome. We got to see the panel for “The Fault In Our Stars”. John Green, actor Nat Wolf, director Josh Boone, and a few people who did promotions and worked on the film discussed the impact the movie will have on the audience. “The Fault In Our Stars” in one of my favorites because nothing is sugar coated. What Hazel and Augustus go through is as real as it gets, especially since Hazel has terminal lung cancer. John Green showed clips from the film and answered fan questions. He is a really funny guy, and I have to give him a lot of thanks for writing an incredible book. Looks like a few Kleenex will be needed to watch the movie.

My copy of "The Fault In Our Stars".
My copy of “The Fault In Our Stars”.
John Green, Nat Wolf, and John Boone at the panel (photo by Deysha Paredes)
John Green, Nat Wolf, and John Boone at the panel (photo by Deysha Paredes)

Our BookCon adventure ended after the panel. I had to organize all the stuff I got and shared some of it with my sister. BookCon has inspired me to become a better writer. It was awesome, and although I did not get to see most of my favorite authors, it was still worth the adventure. The bookworm in me is more than satisfied!

We had an amazing time! (photo by Gilberto E. Burgos)
We had an amazing time! (photo by Gilberto E. Burgos)
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

