Art and the World

MET MUSEUM, NEW YORK, NY- Yesterday as an early birthday gift to one of my best friends Stephanie, I took a trip to the Metropolitan Museum of Art (also known as the Met). My best friend Natalia, my boyfriend Gilberto, and my little sister Alondra, also came along. Alondra had gotten free passes from her school, so no admission fee for us. It has been years since I have gone to the Met, and it was a lot bigger than from what I remembered. It will take a whole day to see all the artifacts and art within the museum (if you are lucky). The building itself runs from East 80th street to 84th and is next to Central Park in Manhattan. Art is my second passion, so to see so many forms of it in one place was like being a kid in a candy store. Sculptures, sketches, oil paintings, stained glass, pottery, wood carvings, photography, and other mediums of art surrounded me. I truly regret not bringing my sketchbook along to try and capture some of the details, but my camera had to do. We went through Rome, Greece, Egypt, Israel, India, some tribes from Africa, Korea, France, England, and a few other places in just one museum. The collections were break taking, and just to add humor we posed with some of the statues. We learned a lot from History thanks to the artifacts. Three out of five of us in the group are music majors so seeing the musical instruments from the past was an eye opener. Seeing all the art from around the globe makes me consider traveling. The museum replicated most of the works, so I can only imagine seeing the real thing. Each collection made me feel like I was in that part of the world (now if only I can get over my fear of flying on an airplane. I am not afraid of heights just to clarify, just flying). So long story short, if you live in the New York City area, go to the MET. Its awesome!

From the Greek Collection
From the Greek Collection

bears beauty

A young mind looking at the bigger picture
A young mind looking at the bigger picture

bronze-woman ghost greek-armor harps jar knight-marching knights lion mary-and-jesus

Gilberto posing next to armor (and the photographer for most of these photos)
Gilberto posing next to armor (and the photographer for most of these photos)

naked-woman

This is Natalia and Stephanie.
This is Natalia and Stephanie.

piano

Stained glass with musical instruments. I fell in love.
Stained glass with musical instruments. I fell in love.
Love the shadows on this
Love the shadows on this
Favorite view within the museum
Favorite view within the museum
Here Alondra is testing her flexibility with this statue. Good luck.
Here Alondra is testing her flexibility with this statue. Good luck.

Photos taken by:Gilberto E. Burgos and Rosa Elena Oliveras

Photo editing by: Me

For more info on the MET visit: http://www.metmuseum.org/en

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

